In 1875, when two pioneer Texans, Jacamiah S.
Daughterty and Charles U. Connellee, purchased land and platted the townsite of
Eastland. With the railroad extending westward, early town promoters offered
the Texas and
Pacific Railway one‐fourth of the town lots in exchange for building
the railroad through Eastland. The railroad accepted the offer, and the first
engine puffed through town in 1880. Local improvement projects such as the
brick pavers on the Bankhead
Highway through town reflect the prosperity
offered by oil production in the region. The 1928 Connellee Hotel provides a
glimpse into the extravagant getaway experiences travelers could find in the West Texas oil boom towns. Auto‐tourists looking for a
more subtle overnight experience stayed at the Eastland City and Tourist Park, one of the few surviving
examples of a once popular lodging type. While you’re in town, stroll over
to the courthouse for a glimpse of Old Rip, Eastland’s legendary horned
lizard, who lived for nearly 30 years entombed in the cornerstone of the old
Eastland City and Tourist
Just off the main road on a hill overlooking the city and surrounding
countryside, Eastland City and Tourist Park offered tourists and locals a
picturesque setting for a picnic, a game of tennis, a day of swimming, or
simply napping under a tree.
Chamber of Commerce
209 W. Main St.