a rural agricultural community, Greenville
remained relatively small until the Missouri, Kansas and Texas
Extensions Railway arrived in the fall of 1880. Soon five different railway
lines ran through town, and Greenville
became a leading cotton marketing location. In 1913 a group of local business
owners and county officials, along with the Booster Club, pitched in to pave
the major entrances to the city, encouraging automobile traffic. The Bankhead
Highway’s designation through Greenville followed soon after, when the 1917
Good Roads meeting in Mineral Wells laid out the highway’s “all-Texas” route.
Traffic congestion became a problem by the 1940s, so the Bankhead was rerouted
from the downtown commercial district to a four-lane divided expressway
bypassing the town, the first of its kind along this road. When in town, stop
at the Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum to learn more about Greenville and its most
decorated World War II veteran.
J. Punk McNatt Motor
Company, 2401 Johnson St.
The streamlined features of this 1930s Moderne Style former
auto‐dealership also appeared in vehicles of the same era. Sleek lines and
subtle curves replaced the box-like buildings and became part of a marketing
strategy to sell cars with style.
and Visitors Bureau