Born in Westphalia, Germany, Charles Brunson migrated to America in 1845. After working as a stage driver he settled in Columbus and established a saloon in 1867. In 1891, he built the Brunson Building, adding the adjacent store in 1896. The turn of the century proved a violent time in the area, and carrying guns became illegal. As a result, the saloon became a depository of weapons, but in 1906, a citizen resolution was passed prohibiting storing firearms on any premises where “same may be easily accessible in the event of a difficulty arising.” Eventually, Texas Rangers took over law enforcement activities in Columbus. The city was reincorporated in 1927.
The Brunson building was last used as a saloon in 1919 and is now home to the Live Oak Art Center. A gallery and entertainment space, take note of the original bar from the Brunson Saloon.
Live Oak Art Center