Columbus: Old City Cemetery

This cemetery was in use well before the City of Columbus acquired it in 1870. In fact, buried within these 10 acres are many of the “Old 300” -  the first American settlers to receive land grants in empresario Stephen F. Austin’s first colony, from 1823 to 1827.

Also interred here are William B. DeWees, founder of Columbus; local ferry owner Benjamin Beason; and Dilue Rose Harris, survivor and memoirist of the tragic Runaway Scrape.

A highly popular annual event is hosted here by the Nesbitt Memorial Library: “Live Oaks and Dead Folks”. On this eerie and irreverent guided tour, actors in period costume tell the life stories of the city’s deceased residents – young and old, famous… and infamous!

Old City Cemetery

  • Hours: Daily, sunrise to sunset
  • U.S. 90 between Rampart and Legion Sts., Columbus, TX
  • Visit Website