This historical park contains a replica of Mission Nuestra Senora del Espíritu Santo de Zuniga. The mission was originally established in 1722 near Matagorda Bay and moved to its present site in 1749. After the Texas Revolution and independence, the mission fell into disrepair. The current building was reconstructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s.
The mission, in addition to its religious work, was also the first large cattle ranch in Texas. It was able to supply not only its own needs but also those of Spanish colonial settlements as far away as Louisiana.
Today, the mission park also includes a museum, hiking trails, picnic area, and campground. Across the highway is the Presidio site.
Goliad State Park and Historic Site