Built in 1912, this charming house sits in the historic Freedmen’s Town neighborhood in Houston’s Fourth Ward. The house serves as a small museum dedicated to Rutherford B.H. Yates. With his brother, Paul, he founded the Yates Printing Company in 1922, and his business continued its operations until 1978. The Rutherford B.H. Yates Museum is dedicated to preserving the history of both the Yates family and African American printing.
The Yates House, which belonged to Rutherford’s Father, Jack Yates, was moved from this area in 1994 and now sits in nearby Sam Houston Park. Across the street from the Rutherford B.H. Yates House is the Colonial-style house that belonged to the Rev. Ned Pullum. The Pullum House was purchased as part of an ongoing campaign, led by the Rutherford B.H. Yates Museum, Inc., to raise capital for the purchase and restoration of historic properties in the Freedman’s Town Historic District.
Rutherford B.H. Yates House Museum