This house was built in 1870 in nearby Freedmen’s Town — now Houston’s Fourth Ward — before the Houston Heritage Society moved it to this location to preserve it. Formerly enslaved, the Rev. Jack Yates played a prominent role in the religious and civic life of Houston’s African American community. His son’s home, now the Rutherford B. H. Yates Museum, remains in its original location in nearby Freedmen’s Town.
The Yates House contains a large collection of artifacts and memorabilia from the Yates family. The Heritage Society hosts tours of the facilities and collections. Stop by the museum and register at the entrance desk. Be sure to specify the Yates House, as the tour generally makes four stops, chosen by participants, among the various properties in the park. Also, visitors should set aside time to stroll along the paths leading through the park past other historic buildings, including the 4th Ward Cottage.
Jack Yates House at Sam Houston Park