Wolf Creek Heritage Museum tells the story of Russians of German descent, some of the first residents of Lipscomb and the Texas Panhandle. The museum features clothing, artifacts, and artwork from Lipscomb County residents – past and present.
The story of this ethnic community continues at nearby St. John’s Cemetery, started in 1916 when Jacob and Amalia Koch – early homesteaders – allowed church members to bury family members on their land in Lipscomb. The land was finally deeded to the church in 1950, and given state historical recognition in 2006.
Thirty miles outside Lipscomb, in Booker, Kiowa Cemetery is the final resting place for a number of German-Russian families who settled along Kiowa Creek in 1910.
Wolf Creek Heritage Museum