Lockhart: St. John Colony

This freedmen’s community took its name from the St. John Missionary Baptist Church, founded in 1873, shortly after settlers led by the Rev. John Henry Winn arrived in the area. Across the road from the church is the official marker for the cemetery, which includes the graves of many of the colony’s original inhabitants.

St. John Colony
  • 12 miles northeast of Lockhart on FM 672, 0.2 miles east of CR 294/CR 167 intersection, Lockhart, TX