In the late 1800s and early 1900s, Joe “Mose” Weisman was arguably Marshall’s king of retail. The son of German-Jewish immigrants, Weisman and his three brothers sold dry goods out of his shop on Peter Whetstone Square. In 1897, Weisman opened Hub Shoe Store – a business that would stay in the family until it closed in 2001. In 2011, a historical marker was installed outside The Hub, which is now used as office space.
Weisman and his wife Lena were lifelong philanthropists, contributing to their synagogue, community organizations, and church fundraisers. The Weisman Center, an antique and collectable marketplace as well as an elegant event space, is an extension of both the business sense and philanthropic spirit of Mose Weisman.