The Old Stone Fort is an iconic and storied Nacogdoches landmark. It’s been many things over the years – but ironically it was never a fort!
The original structure was built circa 1779 as a Spanish colonial house along El Camino Real. It remained the tallest structure in town for more than a century, often serving as government offices – and finally as a saloon.
It was dismantled in 1902 but the original stones were kept – and used by the Texas Centennial Commission in 1936 to build a reconstruction of the Old Stone Fort, which now houses a museum on the campus of Stephen F. Austin University. The museum shares the rich history of the area, including its Revolutionary past and its important connection to El Camino Real.
Old Stone Fort Museum