One of four Rosenwald Schools in Brazoria County, the Columbia Rosenwald School operated from 1921 until 1948, when it was closed after the consolidation of the West and East Columbia School Districts. The school was financed with a grant from the Rosenwald Fund — which provided matching grants to build public schools for African American children — as well as local contributions from the community. One teacher taught first through seventh grades at the same time in the one-room school, until eighth grade was added in the 1940s. After the school closed, it was moved and used as a hay barn.
In 1995, the deteriorated structure was identified as a Rosenwald School and moved to its current location behind the Columbia Historical Museum, which owns and operates the school building. It was restored in 2009.
Columbia Rosenwald School